The Advocate by Randy Singer

I like to read historical fiction and I enjoyed reading “The Advocate” by Randy Singer. The reality of the cruelty of crucifixion and the reasoning behind it was hard to understand the why behind it and I wondered how they could do this to so many? It was a hard idea to grasp and understand why such cruelty was given out by the Roman Empire. I do enjoy reading historical fiction and I find this time period is such a cruel one. The trial and crucifixion of Jesus was brought to life through the Advocate, Theophilus. Theophilus has a part in the trial of Jesus Christ. He then goes on to represent the apostle Paul for blasphemy. I was drawn into this story from the first chapter and found it to be highly descriptive, thought provoking and full of suspense. It was sometimes too realistic and I could only be thankful I did not live in that time. If you like historical Christian fiction or historical suspense you will find that in this book. I was gifted this book from the Book Club Network (bookfun.org) for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

