To Win Her Favor by Tamara Alexander

Tamara Alexander drew me in right from the start. She gives us a look into what life looked like post-Civil War for blacks and immigrants in the South in 1869 and the struggle to save the family home. I found some parts of this story that showed some of prejudices against the Irish and African-Americans and the actions some took to keep them in their place, hard to read and not feel compassion and disbelief at what they endured. I was drawn in quickly and the vivid descriptive scenes were quickly running through my mind and I could see and feel the emotions they portrayed. A quickly arranged marriage to save the family estate proved to be a wonderful story of faith, endurance and triumph over hard times. I loved this story. My emotions run low to high, I felt anger, I laughed and yes, I even shed a few tears. The closer I got to the end the faster I wanted to turn the pages. I too wanted to soar on the back of Bourbon Belle! This story, especially the ending truly touched me. If you like Historical romance with mystery and suspense this one will hold you fast within the pages.. You will like this one!
I would rate this one PG-13.
I was gifted a copy to review by NetGalley for my honest opinion which I have given.

Clicking on the book will take you to Amazon…

Leave a Reply

