The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy

After reading the book description I knew I wanted to read this book. I was familiar with the quilts that were made during this period and wanted to read more about the Underground Railroad’s mapmakers and about Saran Brown taking her cues from the slave code quilts and hiding her maps within her paintings and dolls. I liked how the author told a story of the daughter of abolitionist John Brown and Eden a modern women living in a house where a unique doll head is found buried in a hidden root cellar. The author tied it together with family history, the courage and hard truths that would pass through the generations. I learned about how the maps and dolls were used like the quilts to show the way to safety. This was not an exciting or suspenseful book but I enjoyed how she pulled the past into today. If you like historical fiction you would enjoy the Mapmaker’s Children. I was gifted a copy by Blogging For Books for my opinion, which I have given.
If you would like to know more about the author you can find her bio here: http://sarahmccoy.com/bio/
and The Mapmaker’s Children web site here: http://sarahmccoy.com/the-mapmakers-children/

Clicking on the book will take you to Amazon.

Leave a Reply

